no boy scout

November 10, 2014

full custody

What is the goal of the Christian life? It is godliness born of obedience to Christ. Obedience unlocks the riches of the Christian experience. Prayer prompts and nurtures obedience, putting the heart into the proper “frame of mind” to desire obedience.

 

The hallmark of Jesus’ life was his obedience to the Father. Some theologians get this wrong, they have actually confused obedience with powerlessness. Some modern Christian thinkers believe that in order for us to more Christ like we need to pray to be powerless.

 

This is absurd, at no point in his life was Jesus powerless. His life was the perfect example of power brought by obedience.

 

It is in the spirit of being obedient that prompted me to call my dad today. We have not seen each other or talked to each other in over 43 years. I called to tell him he has always been forgiven by me and thought of everyday. Some memories are good some are not, but since he is dying of cancer and accepted Jesus as Savior when he was in prison I wanted him to have peace about this.

 

It was a strange moment, as we are basically strangers. He has never met my wife or my children or his grandchildren. We both cried and after ending the call my day was both joyous and melancholy.

 

But I felt that God was prompting me to this and I wanted to be obedient.

 

My hope is that if you are the prodigal son, or the prodigal father and years have passed don’t give up on there being some sort of restoration. We will never be close, time has stolen many things from us. But there is no bitterness and he feels like he can pass in peace.

 

The primary message I wanted to convey to my dad is that the years have not passed in bitterness or unforgiveness or even in thoughts of revenge. It was just that time passed.

 

We prayed together which made us weep even more.

 

My greatest encouragement is that since we are both Christians we will have all eternity in heaven to get to know each other better.

 

Some folks have asked why I didn’t call earlier. One is I don’t know him, two I didn’t want him to feel guilty and honestly I wanted to make sure I could call him and be full of grace and blessings and not cursing.

 

Satan does two things well, he lies and he steals, my father and I have much stolen from us, but our God does restore.

 

God bless to all the prodigals, the New American Standard Version of the bible in the passage about the prodigal son says; “when he came to his senses, he realized what he had done.”

 

Life is filled with insanity. God restore us to being sane.

 

Be blessed, be safe, be obedient.

 

Thank you for all the great emails, I’m sorry that I can’t answer everyone. We do pray for everyone.

 

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

