Mental fleas

November 26, 2014

3 stooges

Mental Fleas

Weird title I know, I don’t know if its old age, dementia, or I’m just paying better attention to my thoughts. During my devotion time I can go from reading my bible to praising the Lord, to naked women dancing in my head, all in about 8 seconds.

 

It always amazes me, I can be deep in prayer, convinced I’ve entered the portals of heaven and then, bam, I’m thinking about zebras and comic books.

I’ve said the Lord ’s Prayer probably ten thousand times, the same with the 23 Psalms, and about half way through, it’s shotguns, Twinkies and fishnet stockings (no I’m not wearing them).

 

Part of this is we are just so bombarded by information, our brain is on overload. Part of it is satanic, if he can keep you unfocused, you feel like crap. Part of it is God reminding you not to be proud or boastful about your spiritual life, because he knows what a screw up you really are.

 

1 Kings 2 New International Version (NIV)

David’s Charge to Solomon

When the time drew near for David to die, he gave a charge to Solomon his son.

“I am about to go the way of all the earth,” he said. “So be strong, act like a man,3 and observe what the Lord your God requires: Walk in obedience to him, and keep his decrees and commands, his laws and regulations, as written in the Law of Moses. Do this so that you may prosper in all you do and wherever you go and that the Lord may keep his promise to me: ‘If your descendants watch how they live, and if they walk faithfully before me with all their heart and soul, you will never fail to have a successor on the throne of Israel.’

 

Observe

Walk

Keep

 

See that’s where we fall down on the job. Have you ever walked into a parked car, or a street sign, bump into somebody?

 

We have to watch (observe) spiritually as well as physically, you’d think walking would be the most natural thing to do. But how often have you tripped and then looked back to see what did it and nothing was there. (I know I just washed my feet and can’t do a thing with them).

 

Keep trying, I read all these great devotional books and lives of saints and guess what, they all leave out the daily, boring, ordinary stuff; like the daily screw ups.

There had to be, I mean just read the Old Testament it is really about how everyone basically bombs.

 

Of course we need a personal savior, I’m the living embodiment of the three stooges.

 

So take heart, the only perfection is found in Jesus, for the rest of us chuckleheads, well now you know why we call our devotions ‘scumlikeus’

 

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

