plain and simple

January 11, 2015

the bible

The ultimate intent of the Bible is to change lives. What you learn from it should make a difference in your attitude and actions. The Holy Spirit is not interested in imparting intellectual knowledge only. His goal is to prepare the people of God spiritually and intellectually for good works.

Your goal in understanding Bible truth, then, is to apply it to your life. The classic verse declaring the inspiration of Scripture and the goal of Scripture is 2 Tim 3:16-17 Note the goal, “That the person who serves God may be fully qualified and equipped to do every kind of good deed.”

 

 

The Word of God can only do this for you as you study its pages. Disciplined study is defined as diligent application of the mind, careful examination of the facts, and deep thought about them. In thinking about the facts, you will draw some conclusions and make some decisions. When these decisions become part of your life, it will become more based on scriptural principles, and you will be fulfilling 2 Tim 3:16-17.

 

 

One of the top ten questions I get asked is “how do I know I’m a Christian” one of my answers is; “you love the Word of God and it is the rule of your life.

People don’t know how to live, how to have an amazing life. Left to our own devices we usually make the wrong choices. It’s amazing how deciding to live life on our own, saying we are the captains of our destiny leads so many to despair, depression and darkness of mind and soul.

 

 

The Word of God brings life and light and love, passion, peace and promise of a better life.

 

 

Including reading of the bible in your life will increase your faith, strengthen your family and ready you for your future. We will be better citizens, better equipped morally and not cast down by the misfortunes of life. I don’t make New Year’s resolutions but if I did top on my list would be read my bible more, it is a well that never runs dry, never disappoints and becomes dearer to your heart.

Having been a serious student of the bible it always amazes me, each time I read I truly exclaim ‘how did I miss that before’.

 

 

Well if I am a salesman I hope I’ve made a sale, and you are sold on the importance of the bible in your life. It will and can give you an answer for any and all of your life.

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

