change for the better

February 10, 2015

Treasure after

CHANGE

 

  1. A true Christian can change, for God makes it possible through a spiritual renewal.

2 Cor. 5:17. If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

Ezek. 36:25-27. I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your impurities and from all you idols.  I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.  And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.

  1. Believers are children of God, born again by the Spirit of God.

John 1:13. . . children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God.

Titus 3:4-6. When the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy.  He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior.

  1. Empowered by Christ, the vine, we can and must bear much fruit.

John 15:1-5. I am the true vine and my father is the gardener.  He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he trims clean so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you.  Remain in me, and I will remain in you.  No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine.  Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. I am the vine; you are branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.

  1. God will enable you to change and you must.

Phil 2:12-13. Continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.

  1. God calls you to put off old sinful ways and to put on new godly ways.

Eph. 4:17-32. (Do not live as unbelievers do, but live as children of light.)

Eph. 4:22-24. You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put of the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.

  1. Paul gives us specific instructions on what must be done.

Eph. 5:1-21.

  1. The Bible gives us rules for holy living.

Col. 3:1-17.

  1. Put to death the misdeeds of the body.

Col. 3:5. Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature.

  1. Live by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Rom. 8:1-14.

Rom. 8:13-14. If  you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.

  1. Train yourself toward godliness.

1 Tim. 4:7. Have nothing to do with godless myths and old wives’ tales; rather, train yourself to be godly.

  1. Keep working at change; forget the things of the past and press on.

Phil. 3:12-14. Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it.  But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

  1. Put much effort into living a godly life.

2 Peter 3:14. So then, dear friends, since you are looking forward to this [the second coming of the Lord], make every effort to be found spotless, blameless and at peace with him.

  1. Use the whole armor of God.

Eph. 6:10-17

  1. Resist the devil.

James 4:7. Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

  1. No longer use your body to sin but to serve God.

Rom. 6:10-23

  1. Cast off all that hinders you.

Heb. 12:1. Since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.

Well you know me and lists, and statistics, I can’t resist them. So here is my list on change. We all need to work with God and the changes he wants to bring about in our lives. Yet if we are honest about it we resist at every occasion and that is simply rebellion.

In order to grow and be more Christ like we must be open to change or we will only harden our hearts against God.

To grow and to change is the natural order I hope my list helps and encourages you.

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

