Eternal Glory

February 19, 2015

praying mom

Multitudes have suffered and died, and multitudes continue to suffer, without knowing the reason why. The Bible says, “There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it” (1 Corinthians 10:13). This is God’s promise that He will place a limit upon the severity of the trial and that He will give us sufficient strength to bear up under it.

 

 

 

We may suffer long, we may suffer hard, but we are promised not to be crushed. While in the military I had many friends that had been P.O.W.’s in Vietnam, many of them were Christians, the stories they told of the horrors of what was done to them paled to the glories of the God they saw each and every day. I’ve had two friends that were P.O.W.’s with the Japanese, again the things that God did to keep them and bless them was truly amazing.

 

 

 

We are to be comforted with the assurance that our Lord has a good and wise purpose to be served through our afflictions. Exactly what His purpose is in sending trials into our lives we may not know at this present time. Nor do I know if God will ever reveal His purpose to us in this life. The Lord said, “What I do thou knowest not now; but thou shalt know hereafter” (John 13:7). I do not want these words of our Lord to be lost on me as they were lost on Peter. One day we will understand that which for the present is hidden from us. We can afford to wait. “For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then, face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known” (1 Corinthians 13:12).

 

 

 

I want to encourage especially those who suffer with whatever form of mental illness you wrestle with. Take your medication, go to counseling, accept love from others, realize the grace that can be given in hope of that glad day when we are with our Savior and we will be whole.

 

 

 

Psalm 119:75 “I know, O Lord, that thy judgments are right, and that thou in faithfulness has afflicted me”. Here we have a clear testimony, given by divine inspiration, that God in righteousness sent affliction into David’s life and experience. You are right we don’t have to like it, but believing in a Sovereign, Righteous and Just God, may be our only anchor to sanity.

 

 

 

David testified that affliction was a learning experience for him. He wrote, “It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes” (v. 71). Suffering is a required course in God’s school, and it should be a great learning place for every believer in the Lord Jesus Christ. Our trial has been for me an enriching experience. It has taught me some valuable lessons.

It’s a tough school, graduation can seem a long way off, but believing that this affliction brings us closer to God is one of the most important lessons we can learn and learning it early keeps us from the wicked root of bitterness.

 

 

 

David testified how his affliction benefited him spiritually. “Before I was afflicted I went astray: but now have I kept thy word” (v. 67). One of the proverbs reminds us that “whom the Lord loveth He correcteth; even as a father the son in whom he delighteth” (Proverbs 3:12). The New Testament adds witness to this fact with the words, “For whom the Lord loveth He chasteneth, and scourgeth every son whom He receiveth” (Hebrews 12:6).

 

 

 

Every afflicted Christian should bow to the absolute sovereignty of God and surrender to Him the right to do what He chooses to do, whenever He chooses to do it, in any way He chooses to do it, for any purpose He wants to accomplish, and to use any person He chooses.

 

 

 

He Maketh No Mistake

My Father’s way may twist and turn,
My heart may throb and ache,
But in my soul I’m glad I know
He maketh no mistake.

My cherished plans may go astray,
My hopes may fade away,
But still I’ll trust my Lord to lead,
For He doth know the way.

Though night be dark and it may seem
That day will never break,
I’ll pin my faith, my all in Him,
He maketh no mistake.

There’s so much now I cannot see,
My eyesight’s far too dim;
But come what may, I’ll surely trust
And leave it all to Him.

For by and by the mist will lift
And plain it all He’ll make;
Through all the way, though dark to me,
He made not one mistake.

 

Poem by A. M. Overton

 

 

God bless the suffering, they see a side of God many will never see, and they will be touched in a way some will never experience.

 

 

 

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

