God smells good

March 6, 2015

nose_4

Only one thing accounts for the words of Paul when he said, “I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord” (Philippians 3:8)—Christ, the essence and image of God, is more to be desired than all his gifts. He is the end of our soul’s savoring, not the means.

 

 

The gifts of God are good. They are to be received with thanks and joy, but they are not God, nor are they the soul’s final food. They point away from themselves to God. “The heavens are telling the glory of God” (Psalm 19:1, rsv), and so is every other gift that we enjoy. Again and again I go back to Augustine’s prayer to get my bearings: “He loves Thee too little, who loves anything together with Thee, which he loves not for Thy sake.” In these meditations I rejoice in many gifts of God, but I will have failed in my aim if the overall impact of this book does not move us from seeking his gifts to savoring himself.

 

 

 

The supremacy of God’s beauty and all-satisfying value is the final food for the savoring of our souls, not his gifts. There is no other way to account for words like these:

Though the fig tree do not blossom,

nor fruit be on the vines,

the produce of the olive fail

and the fields yield no food,

the flock be cut off from the fold

and there be no herd in the stalls,

yet I will rejoice in the Lord,

I will joy in the God of my salvation.

(Habakkuk 3:17–18, rsv)

“Whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God” (1 Corinthians 10:31, rsv),

Whom have I in heaven but thee?
And there is nothing upon earth that I desire besides thee.
My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

(Psalm 73:25–26, rsv)

 

 

“Is there nothing upon the earth, that I desire…

 

 

And as I am so fond of saying; “and there’s the rub.”

 

 

Your heart has to make a choice of what is more important, the eternal or the now.

 

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

 

 

I want to thank all those that have sent in their stories, pictures and testimonies, it has been very moving to read about all those that have been following this site. May all the riches of Christ dwell in you in mercy and love, you truly humble me, God bless.

Leave a Reply

