we pause for this commercial break

March 13, 2015

boxing

Proverbs 15 King James Version (KJV)

15 A soft answer turneth away wrath: but grievous words stir up anger.

The tongue of the wise useth knowledge aright: but the mouth of fools poureth out foolishness.

 

About every two weeks or so I have to be out in the middle of nowhere and confront multiple men about the laws that they are breaking. I have no badge, no uniform, and no back up, it is just a situation that happens on a somewhat regular basis because of a property situation that would take to long to explain.

 

Some of these guys are drinking, some are smoking pot, but I really don’t have a choice, the rules have to be enforced and I have a contractual obligation and right to make sure the rules are followed.

 

 

One riot, one Ranger, if you are familiar with the Texas Rangers (law enforcement not sports) you have to stud up and do your job or wimp out. I’m no stranger to violence, but I have learned at my age, the healing takes a lot longer.

 

The bible verse used above usually solves the problem. But I do have rules of engagement that I would like to share.

  1. Always wear sunglasses, your eyes will give you away just before you strike

  2. Stay back at least one and half arm lengths

  3. Be polite

  4. Don’t be rude or yell or talk about your rights

  5. Explain the infraction

  6. Give them a way out

  7. Don’t let it turn into a studfest

  8. Step forward a half pace after the statement

  9. Don’t go nuclear if it escalates, (don’t do the monkey dance) (some of you will know what I mean.

To all those who will email me about turning the other cheek, maybe I’m to Old Testament.

It doesn’t always go well, one guy pulled a gun, my response, I laughed and said thanks for taking the boredom out of my day. He laughed, holstered his gun, then I knocked him out and had him arrested.

One guy did the chest bump, my tactical baton was gently laying up against his face, I asked him if we were going to kiss next. He stepped back and I said no harm no foul.

I do believe in divine protection, there are times we are danger and probably don’t even realize it. If you’ve read Billy Graham’s book about angels you can read about angelic help.

I wrote this little guidebook to those who have to go into harm’s way.  To those that have to take risks, it’s better to be vanquished than be a victim, there are no second place winners in combat. Don’t let being a Christian make you a sissy, or a victim. There’s an old saying “I’d rather be slain as a lion, then live in fear like a lamb.

Yes this isn’t my regular devotional style but it was on my heart and I’d thought I would share something a little different, variety is the spice of life. To any pacifists out there that read this and are offended, oh gee you nancy grow a set.

 

Yes I will probably have to ask forgiveness to someone.

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

