Rollercoaster

April 17, 2015

 

footsteps

Our Christian life is divine, magical, terrifying, and hopefully an ecstatic existence. Some folks might be surprised at the any of the above terms, hopefully all will agree it’s never boring.

 

Terrifying has both a negative and positive connotation; positive, in that God takes us places and places us in situations we would never dare to go, if we are obedient it’s like riding a rollercoaster, if we are stiff-necked, it’s like falling off a cliff. It can appear to be terrifying because God is trying to strip you of everything that is not Christ-like in your life.

 

 

Even the simple act of praying. Today during my early evening devotions I always read Thomas Kempis; Imitation of Christ. One phrase (as often is the case) really moved me to pray a very genuine prayer of repentance, what struck me as terrifying was that as I was emotionally surrendering to God, my mind at the same time was yelling at me to do something carnal and sinful. Honestly I was shocked, horrified, how in the midst of drawing near to God could I be thinking something so really nasty.

 

 

I was actually trembling, would I give in to my darker, base side, my pet sins (you know the kind you don’t want to admit, the ones you keep rationalizing it’s ok to do as long as you ‘confess’ later).

 

That’s when a bible verse came to mind; Psalm 32:8King James Version (KJV)

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye.

 

 

God sees me and knows at that instant I am weak and honestly I could go either way. That’s the problem with our ‘habitual sins’ the habit of giving into them is strong and if we don’t fight them we are conditioning ourselves to give in to them. The old ‘two steps forward, three steps back’ syndrome.

 

The next verse that came to mind was; John 6:69King James Version (KJV)

69 And we believe and are sure that thou art that Christ, the Son of the living God.

 

 

I had to tell myself I really did believe in all that God had done and will do in my life, and that all Jesus did he did for me. Good news, I didn’t fall, act out, sin, backslide, and get carnal. Every once in a while the good guys do win one.

 

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

 

Continue to pray for Maureen as her mother was put into hospice today.

 

Pray for Bobby that is having throat surgery tomorrow

For Kim and her battle with cancer

 

For Darin and his battle with alcohol and depression

 

And for Missy S, who walked in off the street and into church to leave a life of gangs, and all the gangster stuff that goes with it.

 

As an Elder brother in the Lord, let me tell you of the affection in my heart for all of you that continue to bless me with you prayers and emails. We are near 4200 followers on this web site and the daily emails with questions and comments are always welcome. God bless.

Leave a Reply

