free to good home

April 28, 2015

sound sleep

There’s an old song that goes, “dang me, dang me, you ought to take a rope and hang me, high from the highest tree, woman don’t you weep for me”. I don’t remember who sang that song and it’s really not important, the point is some will want to hang me for my initial comments.

I don’t write much about children, the reason is I don’t like them, as horrible as that sounds we are all entitled to our own quirks and mine is children. I don’t go to restaurants that are popular with families, if we see kids we ask the hostess to seat us as far as possible away from them. Rude children in groceries stores and department stores I usually walk up to the parents and say “I have a Taser, would you like to borrow it.”

When parents had problem kids I used to say “oh they’ll grow out of it” now I say just put them out for adoption. Having been in foster care myself and having my fair share of “bad” parents I know that parents and children come in all different flavors. So in spite of my personal hang ups about kids let’s see what the bible says about them.

  1. Children belong first to God and are his gift to us.

Ps. 127:3-5.

Ps. 127:3. Sons are a heritage from the Lord, children a reward from him.

  1. Children of believers belong to God and are in his covenant.

Gen. 17:7. I will establish my covenant as an everlasting covenant between me and you and your descendants after you for the generations to come, to be your God and the God of your descendants after you.

Acts 2:39. The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off-for all whom the Lord our God will call.

  1. God delights in the praise and worship of children.

Ps. 8:2. From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise because of your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger.

  1. Jesus accepted the praise of children.

Matt. 21:15-16. When the chief priests and the teachers of the law saw the wonderful things he did and the children shouting in the temple area, “Hosanna to the Son of David,” they were indignant. “Do you hear what these children are saying?” they asked him. “Yes,” replied Jesus, “have you never read, ‘From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise’?”

  1. Jesus loves little children; of such is God’s kingdom.

Matt. 19:13-15. Then little children were brought to Jesus for him to place his hands on them and pray for them. But the disciples rebuked those who brought them. Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” When he had placed his hands on them, he went on from there.

  1. David was comforted by the knowledge that his infant son went to heaven when he died, and that he would see him there.

2 Sam. 12:18-23.

2 Sam 12:23. Now that he is dead, why should I fast? Can I bring him back again? I will go to him, but he will not return to me.

So don’t hate me, and don’t pray that someday I’ll like kids, but if you plan on visiting me, leave your kids at home or in a kennel.

Ps. Don’t take everything I say as always serious, maybe.

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Ps. (two) what’s even funnier is someone from church just names their kid after me, poor kid

Leave a Reply

