ponder

May 14, 2015

lightbulb

If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God. Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth. For ye are dead, and your life is hid with Christ in God. (Colossians 3:1–3)KJV

 

The last eight words of this verse would make a good sermon for anybody: “Your life is hid with Christ in God.” We could even break it down a little more; “with Christ in God.”

 

We’ve talked before about meditation, it is a concept foreign to Christian thought. We do devotions, we pray, we sing, we listen to sermons, music, etc. but do we ponder. When the Virgin Mary was told she was pregnant, she hid the message in her heart, she pondered.

 

When I’m a guest at a church and the pastor decides on the spur of the moment to call me up to preach, I often get asked after the sermon how many times I had preached that sermon because it was a real barn burner or stirring. My answer is usually “that was the first time,” younger pastors will ask how that is possible its content was so “meaty”. I always tell them it has been in my heart a long time, I’ve been ‘pondering it’ for a long time. Like a sauce that has been simmering.

 

There are riches hidden in the gems of the bible that have to be mined, and worked on and polished, they have to work in our heart for a long period before all the facets of that truth bears a richness to our soul.

 

We must get into our heads and hearts that Jesus Christ is the full, complete manifestation of the Trinity: “He that hath seen me hath seen the Father” (John 14:9). He set forth the glory of the Triune God, all the God there is! Where Jesus appears, God is. And where Jesus is glorified, God is.

 

And when we pray God doesn’t see us and our sins, he sees his Son, for we are hidden in him, he is our high priest and presenter of all our cares, concerns and burdens.

 

“No man hath seen God at any time. If we love one another, God dwelleth in us, and his love is perfected in us. Hereby know we that we dwell in him, and he in us, because he hath given us of his Spirit” (1 John 4:12–13). There you have the Father and the Spirit. “And we have seen and do testify that the Father sent the Son to be the Saviour of the world. Whosoever shall confess that Jesus is the Son of God, God dwelleth in him, and he in God” (4:14–15). There you have the Father and the Son, or the Trinity.

 

“Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word; that they all may be one; as thou, Father, art in me, and I in thee, that they also may be one in us: that the world may believe that thou hast sent me” (John 17:20–21).

 

Jesus said distinctly here, “I’m praying for you that you all may be one as the Father is in me and I in him, that you may be one in us. I in you and the Father in me.”

 

With Christ in God….. ponder on that.

 

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

 

Pray for our dear friend Kera, 29 years old and in this heavy rain storm we’ve been enduring for days, her car was struck by another vehicle and her car was thrown down a 40 foot embankment. Rushed to the hospital by helicopter, her car totaled, not one broken bone in her body, but her left side is paralyzed. She’s a single mom with a 10 year old boy.

Leave a Reply

