who will put out the couch

May 30, 2015

lightbulb

WHO WILL PUT OUT THE COUCH

Here’s to my fellow insomniacs, besides PTSD, there’s another reason I have never slept good at night, if the couch catches on fire who will put it out. That was always my job as the oldest child. My father would come home late at night wasted out of his mind and fall asleep on the couch with a cigarette in his mouth or hand, while my mother would be passed out in the bedroom from gin and tranquilizers.

I lost track of how many times the couch caught on fire, what was worse was when I threw a bucket of water on the couch that meant throwing water on a very upset father. So I saved the house from burning down but got punched in the face a few times.

No matter what our past was, God our new father promises to not punch us in the face. When my Chief Master Sergeant led me to the Lord he kept telling me my heavenly father was nothing like my earthly father, that he had good things for me.

We can have peace, sanity and restoration.

John Newton was a wild-living sailor and slave-trader who got saved and became a godly pastor and the author of many hymns, including the beloved, “Amazing Grace.” He said late in his life: “My memory is nearly gone, but I remember two things: that I am a great sinner, and that Christ is a great Savior.”

Even if your past is not as wicked as John Newton’s, you should be growing in your awareness of those two great facts. The longer I am a Christian, the more acutely I am aware of the exceeding wickedness of my own heart. I can identify with the hymn writer, Robert Robinson, who wrote, “Prone to wander, Lord I feel it; prone to leave the God I love.” But, thank God, the more I see my own sinfulness, the more brightly God’s grace shines.

The story of Peter’s denials is recorded in Scripture to underscore these two great facts: the weakness and sinfulness of even the most prominent saints; and, the greatness and abundance of God’s love and grace toward those who fail. For those who are walking with the Lord, this story warns us to take heed lest we fall. For any who have fallen, the story holds out the hope of pardon through God’s abundant grace if you will turn back to Him.

Becoming a Christian is a matter of repentance and faith (Acts 20:21), which are flip sides of the same coin. Repentance means turning to God from sin (1 Thes. 1:9). Faith is trusting what Christ has done to pay for our sins on the cross, rather than trusting our own efforts or good works to save us (Eph. 2:8-10). Just as we cannot turn north without turning our backs on the south, so we cannot turn to a holy God for salvation without turning our backs on any known sin in our lives.

We cannot trust in Christ to save us without repudiating trust in our own efforts to save ourselves.

But the repentance and faith which save us do not put us in a protective bubble so that we are free from all sin until we get to heaven. The Christian life begins with repentance and faith, but it also continues with repentance and faith on a daily basis whenever we sin or when God’s Word opens our eyes to sin that we previously were not aware of. If a person is not walking in repentance and faith, there is reason to doubt whether he truly knows Christ.

There is no such thing as a spiritual blowout; there are only slow leaks. When you examine any spiritual failure, you always discover that there has been a slow spiritual decline. It was probably in secret. We keep up the outer appearances. We continued to look the part of a godly man. But in our heart, we were not judging sin. We give up evaluating our lives in light of Scripture. Slowly the air was leaking out of our spiritual tires, but we didn’t see it until they were flat.

Yet after each stumble God waits patiently for us to remember his mercy, his love and his forgiveness.

Sometime we set our own couches on fire, we are our own worst enemy.

Are you spiritually passed out?

We need to repair the leaks, put out the fires and live godly lives.

Can you do it?

Yes you can.

Send your prayer requests to scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

One Response to “who will put out the couch”

  1. […] Source: who will put out the couch […]

Leave a Reply

