ALL

July 23, 2015

christ on cross

According to expert hymnist Alfred Smith, more men responded to this song as an altar call than any other song. This was the time of the railroad and lumberjacks, long periods at sea, men gone from home for long periods of time, falling into sin. This song reminded them of what they were, not what they had become.

 

When I was but a little child how well I recollect
How I would grieve my mother with my folly and neglect;
And now that she has gone to Heav’n I miss her tender care:
O Savior, tell my mother, I’ll be there!

Refrain

Tell mother I’ll be there, in answer to her prayer;
This message, blessèd Savior, to her bear!
Tell mother I’ll be there, Heav’n’s joys with her to share;
Yes, tell my darling mother I’ll be there.

Though I was often wayward, she was always kind and good;
So patient, gentle, loving when I acted rough and rude;
My childhood griefs and trials she would gladly with me share:
O Savior, tell my mother, I’ll be there!

Refrain

When I became a prodigal, and left the old rooftree,
She almost broke her loving heart in mourning after me;
And day and night she prayed to God to keep me in His care:
O Savior, tell my mother, I’ll be there!

Refrain

One day a message came to me, it bade me quickly come
If I would see my mother ere the Savior took her home;
I promised her, before she died, for Heaven to prepare:
O Savior, tell my mother, I’ll be there!

Refrain

An important message here, so many embellish their ‘testimony’ of how bad they were before finding Jesus. The bible doesn’t grade sinners, all were bad, all were unworthy, and all needed a savior. We need to remember nothing has changed, man is still a sinner, all have fallen and all need to witnessed to.

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

