A simple act

August 14, 2015

christ on cross

How can we know that we have been given eternal life? Just as three legs support a camera tripod, the assurance of our relationship with God stands firmly based on the activity of all three members of theTrinity: the promises which the Father gives us in His word, the sacrifice of the Son for us on the cross, and the assurance of the Spirit in our hearts. These can be summarized under three headings: the Word of God, the work of Jesus, and the witness of the Holy Spirit. The Word of God If you asked me how I know I’m married, one answer I could give would be to show you a particular document, our marriage certificate. This is a piece of evidence that proves the fact that my wife and I are married. If you asked me how I know I am a Christian, one answer I could give God.

Our knowledge of God is based on the promises in the Bible. It is based on facts, not feelings. If we were to rely only on our feelings we could never be sure about anything. Our feelings go up and down depending on all sorts of factors, such as the weather or what we’ve had for breakfast. They can be changeable and even deceptive. The promises in the Bible, which is the Word of God, do not change and are totally reliable. There are many great promises in the Bible. A verse that I found helpful, especially at the beginning of my Christian life, is one that comes in the last book of the Bible. In a vision St. John sees Jesus speaking to seven different churches. To the church in Laodicea Jesus says, “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me” (Revelation 3:20).

There are many ways of speaking about starting the new life of the Christian faith—“becoming a Christian,” “giving our lives to Christ,” “receiving Christ,” “inviting Jesus into our lives,” “believing in Him,” and “opening the door to Jesus” are some of the variations. All of them describe the same reality; that Jesus enters our lives by the Holy Spirit, as is pictured in this verse.(Rev 3:20)

Jesus, the Light of the World, stands at a door, which is overgrown with ivy and weeds. The door represents the door of someone’s life. This person has never invited Jesus to come into his or her life. Jesus is standing at the door and knocking. He is awaiting a response. He wants to come in and be part of that person’s life.

We have to open the door to let Jesus into our lives. Jesus will never force His way in. He gives us the freedom to choose. It is up to us whether or not we open the door to Him. If we do, He promises, “I will come in and eat with them and they with me.” Eating together is a sign of the friendship which Jesus offers to all those who open the door of their lives to Him. Once we have invited Jesus to come in, He promises that He will never leave us.

Maybe you wonder about your life and where it’s going, right now the simplest act in the world is to say to Jesus; “please come in, forgive me of my sins.” It’s that simple, then start reading a bible, get a version you understand and just start reading, people recommend different books of the bible, most folks say to start in the book of Mark. If can’t afford a bible email me and I will send you one free.

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Pray for Stacy who is having heart surgery on Friday

Leave a Reply

