Grimm

September 12, 2015

the old pine box

The Bible contains hundreds of references to death.  It is a formidable foe: “the last enemy that shall be destroyed is death (1 Corinthians 15:26), but also a conquered foe: “death is swallowed up in victory: (1 Corinthians 15:54, KJV).

Jesus Christ has changed the meaning of death.  The Scriptures amply support this premise.

 

At death, the spirit of the believing Christian enters immediately into the presence of the Lord.  Physical death is but a transition from life on earth with Christ to life in heaven with Christ.  Death does not alter the continuity of relationship; it only enriches it.

“To be with Christ is far better” ( Philippians 1:23, KJV). The Apostle confirms that the transition is immediate: We are confident, I say, and willing rather to be absent from the body, and to be present with the Lord” (2 Corinthians 5:8, KJV).

The Bible teaches that someday the “dead in Christ” are going to be resurrected, at which time we shall be given new bodies. We don’t know exactly just what or how these new bodies will be except that they will be spiritual, permanent, and glorious.

“And just as we have borne the likeness of the earthly man, so shall we bear the likeness of the man from heaven” (1 Corinthians 15:49, NIV). “But we know that when he (Christ) shall appear, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is” (1 John 3:2). (See also 1 Corinthians 15:51-58.)

At the Second Coming of the Lord Jesus, the believing dead will be resurrected and joined immediately to Him.  “The dead in Christ shall rise first; then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air; and so shall we ever be with the Lord” ( 1 Thessalonians 4:16, 17 KJV).

We have hope beyond the grave! “If only for this life we have hope in Christ, we are to be pitied more than all men” (1 Corinthians 15:19, NIV). The reuniting of living believers with those who have died before the coming of our Lord is called our blessed hope (See Titus 2:13).

 

Thus, the Christian should be able to confront death realistically yet victoriously.  Though inevitable and often unexpected, it should never completely catch us off guard.  Death should never be the “great unknown” which produces fear and terror; it should be, rather, the moment when we no longer see “through a glass, darkly” but “face to face” (1 Corinthians 13:12, KJV).

 

  1. You can face death without fear.

Ps. 23:4. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

  1. The believer will dwell in God’s house for forever.

Ps. 23:6. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

  1. To live is Christ; to die is gain.

Phil. 1:21. For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.

  1. Paul wanted both to remain here, and to go home to be with the Lord, which is far better.

Phil. 1:22-26

Phil 1:23. I am torn between the two.

  1. The death of the Lord’s saints is precious.

Ps. 116:15. Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints.

  1. Those who die in the Lord are blessed.

Rev. 14:13. Then I heard a voice from heaven say, “Write: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.” “Yes”, says the Spirit, “they will rest from their labor, for their deeds will follow them.”

  1. You can have comfort concerning those who have died and are asleep in Jesus.

1 Thess. 4:13-18.

  1. Believers who have died are absent from the body, but at home with the Lord.

2 Cor. 5:1-8. (Our heavenly dwellings)

2 Cor. 5:6-8. We are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord.  We live by faith, not by sight.  We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord.

  1. In life and death we are the Lord’s.

Rom. 14:8. If we live, we live to the Lord; and if we die, we die to the Lord. So, whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord.

  1. Believers go the Father’s house to be with him.

John 14:1-4. Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me.  In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you.  I am going there to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.  You know the way to the place where I am going.

  1. Jesus comforted Mary and Martha after Lazarus died. He is the resurrection and the life.

John 11:17-26.

John 11:23-26. Jesus said to her [Martha], “Your brother will rise again.”  Martha answered, “I know he will rise again in the resurrection at the last day.” Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life.  He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. do you believe this?”

  1. The perishable will put on the imperishable; death will be swallowed up in victory.

1 Cor. 15:50-57. Then the saying that is written will come true: “Death has been swallowed up in victory.” “Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death is your sting?” The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

  1. Believers are co-heirs with Christ.

Rom. 8:16-17. The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.  Now if we are children, then we are heirs – heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share  in his glory.

  1. Nothing – not even death – can separate us from the love of God.

Rom. 8:35-39

Rom. 8:38-29. I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

  1. When David’s infant son died, he was comforted by the knowledge that one day he would go to him.

2 Sam. 12:18 -23.

2 Sam. 12:23. Now that he is dead, why should I fast? Can I bring him back again? I will go to him, but he will not return to me.

  1. Jesus, the good shepherd, laid down his life for his sheep.

John 10:14-15. I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me just as the Father knows me and I know the Father – and I lay down my life for the sheep.

  1. Jesus’ sheep hear his voice and follow him, and he gives them eternal life. No one can snatch them out of his hand.

John 10:27-30. My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.  I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand.  My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.

  1. There will be a new heaven and a new earth in which there will be no more suffering or sorrowing.

rev. 21:1-4. then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne, saying, “Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them.  They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God.  he will wipe every tear from their eyes.  There  will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

  1. Jesus died so that we may live forever with him. Encourage one another with this truth.

1 Thess. 5:9-11. God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ.  He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, w may live together with him.  Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

  1. All who believe in Jesus will have eternal life.

John 3:14-15. Just as Moses lifted up the snake in the desert, so the Son of Man must be lifted up, that everyone who believes in him may have eternal life.

John 3:16. God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

John 3:36. Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on him.

1 John 5:11-12. This is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son.  He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Sod of God does not have life.

  1. When Jesus comes again, he will separate the sheep from the goats.

Matt. 25:31-46.

Matt. 25:31-34. When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his throne in heavenly glory.  Al the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats.  He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.  Then the King will say those on his right, “Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world.”

Matt. 25:41. Then he will say to those on his left, “Depart from me, you who cared cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.”

Matt. 25:46. Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.

Scripture

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff  thy comfort me.”

            Psalm 23:4, KJV

“Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.  In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you.  I go to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.”  John 14: 1-3, KJV

“Jesus said to her, ‘I am the resurrection and the life.  He who believes in me will live, even though he dies.'”   John 11:25, NIV

“For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.”            Philippians 1:21, KJV

“But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.  But God hath revealed them unto us by his Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God.”

            1 Corinthians 2:9,10, KJV

“But our citizenship is in heaven.  And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.”

            Philippians 3:20, NIV

Every Christian should read this book, it is probably the best book on the subject, it is not really a Christian book, but take the good parts and toss the rest.

On Death and Dying: What the Dying Have to Teach Doctors, Nurses, Clergy and Their Own Families Paperback – August 12, 2014(new edition)

by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross (Author), M.D. Ira Byock M.D. (Foreword)

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Pray for Melba A. water on the brain and having surgery

Kim and her battle with cancer

Matthew and Rosie and there recent ongoing tribulation

Dr. Hall, salvation

Nancy D, who was scammed out of her life savings by her housekeeper

Betsy M. robbed by her carpenter for 27k and the work was never done

Leave a Reply

