OLD YELLER

November 9, 2015

growth marks

What is quality of life?

I have three dogs, one is a lab dog, 17 years old; she is blind, pretty much deaf, has breathing problems, several internal tumors, hardening of the throat, pretty common in labs. Has a tough time getting up.

I keep telling my wife let’s put her to sleep. My wife’s response; “hey she eats everyday, she poops, she likes to be outside, really likes colder weather, she still walks the property, let’s keep her going.

Here’s my problem; 20 years from now my wife and son says about me; hey he poops,he eats everyday, he likes cold weather, the tumors aren’t that gross, he’s deaf, blind and he can still carrying his own oxygen bottle. Let’s keep him around.

Quality of life, does the issue matter?

We know life is precious, we know we are His workmanship, He knew our name before we were born, our name is written in the Book of Life.

This isn’t a sneaky discussion about abortion or euthanasia, but fullness of life.

We aren’t dogs, we have a purpose, hopefully a plan and we all prefer to die in our sleep. But are you ready for the last hurtle? Growing old gracefully and depending on God to help you through what may be the hardest trial of your life, old age.

I don’t remember my grandparents telling me about how to grow old, it just sneaks up on you and bam, your old.

As I sit with many elderly people every week, those that have served God all their lives are surprised by the last days of their life, the pain, the suffering, the loneliness, many of their friends have passed on, for some God seems far away, why won’t he end their suffering.

I’ve heard it said that last act of suffering in our old age, is the last test God has for us, it is His final attempt to burn the last bit of dross, carnality and selfishness out of our bodies.

You want a tip, work on it now, maybe you’ll go faster, I don’t have the answer, this is just something to ponder.

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

2 Responses to “OLD YELLER”

  1. Mon Ange said

    This is a tough one to answer. No black or white… There is a grey area.

Leave a Reply

