open heart surgery

February 1, 2016

sugar coating

When the Holy Spirit comes inside of your mortal body, He creates a desire for holiness. And if, habitually, your sexual sin demonstrates no desire for holiness, or for God’s Word, or to move the direction He has told you, then He says, “Examine [yourself] to see whether you are in the faith” (2 Cor. 13: 5). Because Jesus said, “A tree is recognized by its fruit” (Matt. 12: 33). If the fruit of your life is progressive, habitual, sexual immorality, then you need to really ask yourself, “Does the Holy Spirit live in me?”

 

Problem number One; It’s too late for me; sexual sin is so powerful, nothing can loosen its grip on my life.

 

The Real Truth; Christ died to pay for the penalty of your sin and break its power in your life. This final myth is one where I’m imagining some readers might be right now. You’ve read this and you’re feeling hopeless. You’re not even sure you want to give up your sexual sin, though you now realize God is offering you truth you may not have ever considered.

You may think there’s no hope for you. You say, “I’m too far gone. I’ve been in this mess for years. You have no idea where I’ve been and what I’ve done.” What you are saying may be true, but it doesn’t have to be the end of your story. Here’s what I want you to understand: Christ died to pay for the penalty of your sin and break its power in your life. While you and I were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Before you committed any sins He loved you, and He still loves you now. And because He loves you, He doesn’t want you to continue on your present course.

 

 The standard is clear; the fire belongs in the fireplace. That’s where it has to return. But there is a heavenly Father who loves you, and no one is too far gone. But to receive that love, and to be cleansed, and to be forgiven, and to begin to experience the kind of sexuality God wants, you must take certain steps.

1: Be honest. Psalm 145: 18 says, “The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.” To be really up front with you, I had major struggles with lust in my early college years. I was stuck. I constantly struggled with where my eyes went and what went through my mind. I would cry out, “Oh, God, I’m sorry. I know what I did tonight was wrong.” And the next day after more failure, “I’m sorry, I’m sorry.” Then three days later, the cycle would continue. I remember this seemed to go on and on. I was trapped. I remember praying and telling God how sorry I was and how much I really wanted to change. And I heard a strong whisper from the Holy Spirit. “shut up.” Literally—“ Shut up. You like what you’re doing.” I knew it was true. Things didn’t change until I was serious about letting God change me. I can still sense God confronting my spirit: “Get honest. If you really want to change, I’ll give you the power. But stop playing games.” That’s when I stopped trying and playing and started trusting God to work in me. It made all the difference.

Where are you right now, really? This might be one of the most pivotal moments of your life. Is there a decision you need to make before another day goes by that will change the course of your life? Are you willing to be honest?

One of the most powerful truths is secrets have no power when you tell someone. There are few things that can change your life like telling the truth, first tell God, then very carefully select someone else to tell, a counselor, a pastor, a best friend, a spouse.

Can there be fallout from telling someone, sometimes yes; is it worth it? How much is your eternal peace worth?

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

