the big three

March 28, 2016

lightbulb

  “That I may know Him” (Phil. 3:10).

  Immaturity is selfish; maturity is selfless. “He must increase, but I must decrease” (John 3:30). “The question for the tried and tempted, the harassed and oppressed, is this: ‘Which would you rather have, the power of Christ’s hand in deliverance from trial, or the sympathy of His heart in the midst of trial?’ The carnal mind, the unsubdued heart, the restless spirit, will, no doubt, at once exclaim, ‘Oh! let Him only put forth His power and deliver me from this insupportable trial, this intolerable burden, this crushing difficulty. I sigh for deliverance. I only want deliverance.

 

But the spiritual mind, the subdued heart, the lowly spirit, will say, and that without a single particle of reserve, ‘Let me only enjoy the sweet company of the heart of the Lord Jesus Christ in my trial, and I ask no more. I do not want even the power of His hand to deprive me of one drop of consolation supplied by the tender love and profound sympathy of His heart. I know He can deliver me, but if He does not see fit to do so, if it does not fall in with His unsearchable counsels, and harmonize with His wise and faithful purpose concerning me so to do, I know it is only to lead me into a deeper and richer realization of His most precious sympathy.

Growth, Spiritual Maturity and Steadfastness; these are the three things you should pray for yourself. Things, anything of this world will not satisfy the spirit of God within you, only your carnal self. Ask yourself “how happy could I be without….?”

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Pray for Gerrie, that she is strengthened in faith.

Pray for Bree O, she would come to know the Lord,

Steve W, salvation

Pray for those that suffer with chronic pain, that they don’t despair.

 

Leave a Reply

