funny friday

April 16, 2016

son-of-the-mask

 

Laughter as Medicine

 

In The Anatomy of an Illness: As Perceived by the Patient, Norman Cousins tells of being hospitalized with a rare, crippling disease. When he was diagnosed as incurable, Cousins checked out of the hospital. Aware of the harmful effects that negative emotions can have on the body, Cousins reasoned the reverse was true. So he borrowed a movie projector and prescribed his own treatment, consisting of Marx Brothers films and old “Candid Camera” reruns. It didn’t take long for him to discover that 10 minutes of laughter provided two hours of painfree sleep.

 

Amazingly, his debilitating disease was eventually reversed. After the account of his victory appeared in the New England Journal of Medicine, Cousins received more than 3000 letters from appreciative physicians throughout the world.

So whatever it is that makes you laugh, do it, 3 stooges, Tim Conway (I’m showing my age) joke books. My family always accuses me for having a joke for every subject known to man, it’s probably true.

A couple of things that tickled my funny bone this week, I met a girl today that this weekend would be her 6th prom, she’s an official prom girl for guys that need a prom girl, she always buys a new dress, fixes her own hair and told me this would probably be her last year because she’s to old, she’s 21, I don’t know what cracked my up more, 6 proms or how serious she looked when she said she was to old.

 

I get kind of goofy when I’m in serious pain, so I spent Wednesday, Thursday and Friday passing a kidney stone, I have 3 folders in my file cabinet each about 2 inches thick with jokes I’ve collected, I had a laugh festival while trying to pass a couple of stones.

 

So go on, do something funny, make yourself laugh.

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

