forget me knots (it’s a pun)

July 22, 2016

i am convinced

Pride occurs when we’re consumed with self.

It’s the attitude, “No one is going to help me, and so I must help myself.” And so life becomes about acting in my own self-interest.

Maybe I tell a little white lie to avoid embarrassment and save face. Maybe I take credit for the success of the team project so that I’m better positioned for a promotion. Maybe I walk a little bit quicker to the checkout counter because I see a woman with a full cart of groceries coming. And who has time to get stuck behind her?

At its most basic and primal level, self-centeredness, or pride, occurs when we put ourselves before everything else. And the problem with this is that when we rely upon ourselves, we’re displacing God. We’re placing ourselves at the center of our lives instead of God. We’re declaring ourselves, imperfect beings, to be superior to the perfect being, Godpride occurs when we’re consumed with self.

It’s the attitude, “No one is going to help me, and so I must help myself.” And so life becomes about acting in my own self-interest.

Maybe I tell a little white lie to avoid embarrassment and save face. Maybe I take credit for the success of the team project so that I’m better positioned for a promotion. Maybe I walk a little bit quicker to the checkout counter because I see a woman with a full cart of groceries coming. And who has time to get stuck behind her?

At its most basic and primal level, self-centeredness, or pride, occurs when we put ourselves before everything else. And the problem with this is that when we rely upon ourselves, we’re displacing God. We’re placing ourselves at the center of our lives instead of God. We’re declaring ourselves, imperfect beings, to be superior to the perfect being, God..

I’ve been on the road lately and when I got home I was thanking the Lord for a safe trip and no mishaps to me or my wife while I was gone. The one thing different about this trip and being away on business I realized more this month than anything else I’ve been practicing not being in control. (if that sounds idiotic than you’re not a type “A” personality and not wound as tight as I am).and the biggest contributor to letting go is giving God credit for all he does and not taking credit for anything I think I do.

That is killing a part of self-centeredness, you have very little control over anything.

The sooner you learn that the happier your life will be. There is an art form to thinking less of yourself. You’ll be happier with yourself, what you do and what you think.

Blessings from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Pray for BJ in Turkey, things are tough

Pray for Rosalie, trying to work out her marriage to an uncommitted partner, it’s an uphill battle.

Leave a Reply

