sing a little louder

August 1, 2016

praying mom

I would not even attempt to tell you how many hymnbooks or bibles are piled up in my study. I cannot sing a lick, but that is nobody’s business. God thinks I am an opera star!

 

 

God listens while I sing to Him the old Dutch hymns in translation, the old Latin hymns in translation. God listens while I sing the old Greek hymns from the Eastern church as well as the beautiful psalms done in meter and some of the simpler songs of Watts and Wesley and the rest.

 

 

 

I mean it when I say that I would rather read my bible and worship God than to do anything else. I am always amazed when reading my bible how time flies. I worship God especially when I walk in the woods on my daily walk and again wonder how did the time go by so quickly. There have been times where I’ve had to go to the next ranch to catch a ride home.

 

 

 

The beautiful part of worship is that it prepares you and enables you to zero in on the important things that must be done for God.

 

 

 

Listen to me! Practically every great deed done in the church of Christ all the way back to the apostle Paul was done by people blazing with the radiant worship of their God.

 

 

 

if we give ourselves to God’s call to worship, everyone will do more than he or she is doing now. Only, what he or she does will have significance and meaning to it. It will have the quality of eternity in it—it will be gold, silver and precious stones, not wood, hay and stubble.

 

 

 

Why should we be silent about the wonders of God? We should gladly join Isaac Watts in one of his worship hymns:

    Bless, O my soul, the living God,

    Call home thy thoughts that roam abroad,

    That all the powers within me join

    In work and worship so divine.

    Bless, O my soul, the God of grace,

    His favors claim thy highest praise.

    Why should the wonders He has wrought

    Be lost in silence, and forgot?

    Let the whole earth His power confess,

    Let the whole earth adore His grace.

    The Gentiles, with the Jews, shall join

    In work and worship so divine.

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

