better than southern comfort

August 26, 2016

good_shepherdblacksheep

COMFORT
1. The Lord is our shepherd, always leading us in the best way and protecting us.
Ps. 23.

  1. As an eagle stirs up its nest and hovers over its young, so God cares for his own.

    Deut. 32:10 – 12. He shielded him and cared for him; he guarded him as the apple of his

    eye, like an eagle that stirs up its nest and hover over its young, that spreads its wings to

    catch them on its pinions. The Lord alone led him; no foreign god was with him.

  1. As a father cares for his children, so God cares for his own; his love is everlasting.

    Ps. 103:8-18.

  1. God always shelters those who put their trust in him.

    Ps. 91:1-2. He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the

    Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I

    trust.”

  1. God know us most intimately; he holds and guides us by his hand.

    Ps. 139:1-12.

    Ps. 139: 1-3. O Lord, you have search me and you know me. You know when I sit and

    when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying

    down; you are familiar with all my ways.

Ps. 139:9-10. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even
there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.

  1. The wicked appear to prosper for a time, while the righteous suffer; but actually God is

    always leading us in the best way; he comforts us with his presence. Ps. 73.

    Ps. 73:23-24. I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand. You guide me with

    your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory.

  1. The sufferings of the present time are not worth comparing with the coming glory.

    Rom 8:18. I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory

    that will be revealed in us.

  1. God works all things together for our good.

    Rom 8:28. We know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who

    have been called according to his purpose.

  1. If God is for us, nothing can separate us from his love.

    Rom 8:31-39.

    Rom 8:31. What, then shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against

    us?

    Rom 8:38-39. I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither

    the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all

    creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

  1. Jesus, the good shepherd, died for his sheep; he knows, leads, and protects each one; he

    gives us eternal security.

    John 10:11. I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.

    John 10:14-15. I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me – just as

    the Father knows me and I know the Father – and I lay down my life for the sheep.

    John 10:27-29. My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them

    eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. My

    Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my

    Father’s hand.

  1. God’s grace is sufficient for every need.

2 Cor. 9:8. God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times,
having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.

  1. Paul had a thorn in the flesh; God’s promise: My grace is sufficient for you.

    2 Cor. 12:7-10.

    2 Cor. 12:9. He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in

    weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weakness, so that Christ’s

    power may rest on me.

  1. Jesus rebuked the disciples for their little faith and calmed the storm.

    Matt. 8:23-27.

  1. God directs all things by his infinite wisdom and his ways are beyond tracing out.

    Rom 11:33-36. Oh, the depth of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How

    unsearchable his judgments, and his paths beyond tracing out! “Who has know the mind of

    the Lord? Or who has been his counselor?” “For from him and through him and to him are

    all things. To him be the glory forever! Amen.

  1. One day this life of suffering will be over and all will be made new.

    Rev. 21:1-4.

    Rev. 21:3-4. I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Now the dwelling of God is with

    men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with

    them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and their God. He will

    wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or

    pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

  1. Cast your concerns on the Lord, for he will support you.

    Ps. 55:22. Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the

    righteous fall.

  1. God is the source of all comfort.

    2 Cor. 1:3-4. Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of

    compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can

    comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.

There is no situation to big, to bad, to horrible for God, he always has a plan and always is in control.

Theirs is a sermon by Erwin Lutzer, I wish I could recall it, but in its simplest form, either your believe God is in control over everything, or he’s not of control of anything.

Pray for those that have lost much, health, jobs, fortunes, loved ones, friends. Pray that like Job, God will restore.

Blessings from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

