MOLECH

September 10, 2016

sound sleep

Since 1973 over fifty million babies, not fetuses, have been killed in the United States with abortion procedures.[ 8] Fifty million people— a significant percentage of our population. Both sides of the issue would now agree these are pre-born babies. The staggering number is not a cold statistic, but a life-and-death reason why this is important to talk about.

Not long ago I was preparing to speak on this subject. A man in the audience stopped me and said, “I just want to say something. I’ve looked at the printed notes you provide, so I know what you’re going to speak on tonight.” I could tell he was struggling with his emotions. He continued, “If I get up and leave, I just want you to know it’s not you.” I said, “What do you mean?” He said, “My mother was fourteen years old when she was raped and got pregnant with me. Her entire family and friends wanted her to abort me. And this fourteen-year-old girl was like a crusader who refused to have me aborted. And every time this subject comes up . . .”

He started to cry. He said, “It is so emotional for me.” His wife sitting next to him, grabbed his hand tightly and added, “Well, I’m sure glad she did, because I don’t know where I’d be without him.”

This incident reminded me that this discussion isn’t about statistics, numbers, theories, or political views. This is about life. It can be really easy to answer hypothetically as you weigh the evidence and evaluate the issue of abortion. It becomes very different when it gets down to a real, face-to-face, life situation.

Consider the following facts: The heart begins to beat between the eighteenth and twenty-fourth day after conception.

 Brain waves have been recorded as early as forty-five days after conception.

The mother can feel physical movements as early as forty-two days after conception.

 At eight weeks, the baby possesses the unique fingerprints it will have for life.

All bodily functions are present at eight weeks and are functioning at eleven weeks.

At eleven to twelve weeks, a baby can suck its thumb.

 Question: Would all of the above indications reflect a human baby or a mass of tissue?

Today the argument is; Is it convenient for you right now?

Hey, you’re young, you have career, it will ruin your figure, what will people say?

when we realize how we idolize our personal freedoms, careers, and independence today, it’s not a far stretch to think of abortion as the modern sacrifice to an idol. We just have different gods. Our gods are the god of convenience; the god of, “Gotta finish school”; the god of, “Can’t afford this”; and the god of, “I don’t want my life messed up.”

This is a profound issue facing the Church as well as the rest of the world. As I prepared this devotion, doing my best to look at this issue objectively, the statistic that most shocked me was learning that 65 percent of all women who have had abortions self-identify as Christians— 35 percent Protestant, 28 percent Catholic. Tragically, 56 percent of all abortions are performed on women in their twenties and another 18 to 20 percent are performed on teenagers. So about 70 percent of all abortions are being performed on women age thirty and under.

My question is; can your church, accept, love, nurture, help in every way, this woman or young girl, not only have this baby but raise this baby? Can you?

A million babies a year in the USA, killed every year. If you haven’t made up your mind where you stand on abortion, today is the day.

If you’ve already had an abortion, Jesus can forgive and love you, you are not condemned.

Blessings from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

