The overcoat of love

October 18, 2016

Some time ago, I was preaching in an inner-city church and staying in a downtown hotel in a not too savory district. I decided to go out for a walk although I had been warned to “be careful.”

Sure enough, before long I was accosted by a beggar, a wretched-looking man. I was tempted to give him something, then I remembered that the area had a bad name and the only money I had was in my wallet. I was reluctant to pull it out in full view. All I could think of was the possibility of being robbed, possibly assaulted. So I pretended not to hear him and left him standing.

His face haunted me. I had not gone a hundred yards before the Holy Spirit was convicting me. I felt like the priest and the Levite in the Lord’s parable rolled into one.

I pulled out my wallet, took out a large bill, and retraced my steps with the money in my hand. But he was gone. I hung around the area for some time, but he was gone.

The man has troubled me to this day. The Lord would have given him something the same has he has blessed everyone including  me.  I apologized to the Holy Spirit. I wished that I had put on my garment of generosity  of love that day.

 

Above all these things put on love [ agape], which is the bond of perfectness.” The word used for “perfectness” denotes the accomplishment of an end that God has in view—that of making us like Jesus. Why does such a gap exist between what we know and what we show?

Just like the armor of God,  We also need to put on the garments of joy, peace, love and generosity every day. Solomon in all of his glory was not arrayed like one of these, God’s elect in full regalia. These clothes do us no good, however, if we leave them in the closet of God’s Word. Let us ensure that we put them on. We will be the best-dressed people in town if we do. As Count Zinzendorf put it,

Jesus, Thy blood and righteousness,
My beauty are, my glorious dress;
Midst flaming worlds in these arrayed
With joy shall I lift up my head.

Gog bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

keep praying for Wilma she is getting more difficult to work with every day as her dementia continues to get worse .

 

Leave a Reply

