February 12, 2017

Image result for rest in the lord

One of my favorite songs

  1. My soul in sad exile was out on life’s sea,

    So burdened with sin and distressed,

    Till I heard a sweet voice, saying, “Make Me your choice”;

    And I entered the “Haven of Rest”!

    • Refrain:

      I’ve anchored my soul in the “Haven of Rest,”

      I’ll sail the wide seas no more;

      The tempest may sweep over wild, stormy, deep,

      In Jesus I’m safe evermore.

  2. I yielded myself to His tender embrace,

    In faith taking hold of the Word,

    My fetters fell off, and I anchored my soul;

    The “Haven of Rest” is my Lord.

  3. The song of my soul, since the Lord made me whole,

    Has been the old story so blest,

    Of Jesus, who’ll save whosoever will have

    A home in the “Haven of Rest.”

  4. How precious the thought that we all may recline,

    Like John, the beloved so blest,

    On Jesus’ strong arm, where no tempest can harm,

    Secure in the “Haven of Rest.”

  5. Oh, come to the Savior, He patiently waits

    To save by His power divine;

    Come, anchor your soul in the “Haven of Rest,”

    And say, “My Beloved is mine.”

Think about your teenage son or grandson when you read this story about Henry Gilmour. Henry was a 16-year-old lad when he joined a ship’s crew and immigrated to America in the 1850s. He worked as a painter; served in the Civil War and spent several months in the Confederate Libbey Prison. After the war he attended the Philadelphia Dental School and practiced dentistry the rest of his life. He was converted at a protracted revival in Cape May, New Jersey. In 1869, Henry and his wife moved to Wenonah, New Jersey. The Methodist Church there was formed in 1885 from a group who had gathered in their home. He served there for years as song leader, Sunday school superintendent, class leader, and trustee.

Ten weeks every summer, for 40 years, he directed the choir at New Jersey’s Ocean Grove Camp Meeting. He also assisted at Mountain Lake Park Camp Meeting, Maryland, and Ridgeview Park Camp Meeting, Pennsylvania. Gilmour was a major influence in turn of the century Holiness music. He was involved in compiling and publishing 16 songbooks. Close friend and fellow worker in the camp meetings was Henry Zelley. They were known as the Two Henrys. Their collaboration produced these camp meeting classics: “He Brought Me Out” and “He Rolled the Sea Away.”

This testimony song of Gilmour’s was written in 1890 at the Ocean Grove Camp Meeting. The melody was composed by George D. Moore, a traveling evangelist throughout New Jersey and Pennsylvania in the late 19th century. He was a member of the Open-Air Workers’ Association of America, an organization that emphasized the value of outdoor preaching.

Though it cannot be verified, since Henry had spent weeks on the open sea, and the campground was on the ocean, the nautical metaphor makes sense

Jesus said that He would give us rest, but we have to enter into his rest, it takes a conscious effort to find this kind of rest and tranquility of life.

For all who have entered into God’s rest have rested from their labors, just as God did after creating the world. Heb 4:10

Matthew 11:28-30 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

