holy prayers

February 17, 2017

praying mom

This is the third most asked question i

How can I learn to pray or how can I pray better

It just like sermon building, when you start with “Thus sayeth The Lord” its hard to go wrong, just like praying the Word of God, what you are doing is taking words that originated in the heart and mind of God and circulating them through your heart and mind back to God. By this means his words become the wings of your prayers.

 

You can’t go to far wrong with that. I say to far because you can take the verses our of context. That’s why good study bible like the “life application bible” will help you keep on track. Second I would add the one volume commentary by Matthew Henry. With those two resources you would be hard pressed to go the wrong way.

 

 

To pray the Bible, you simply go through the passage line by line, talking to God about whatever comes to mind as you read the text. See how easy that is? Anyone can do that.

 

 

And since faith comes from hearing the word of God, what better thing to do than read the bible out loud. So pray out loud, (it’s not just for Pentecostals you know).

pray about? Everything, right? The Bible tells us that in Philippians 4: 6: “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.”

We may bring “everything by prayer” to God. Everything is something we may pray about. Every person, every object, every issue, every circumstance, every fear, every situation— everything in the universe is something we may bring before God. So every thought that enters your mind as you are reading a passage pray about it.

 

 

I’m always amazed when older Christians will say “you’re not serious, everything?”

 

 

I always give the same example and they tell me I can’t be serious. What’s my example? Simple, you go to a grocery store and you pray, “Lord let me buy only what I truly need and nothing bad for me or spend more than I should.” (that means you don’t shop with a credit card, scandalous heh.)

 

 

God bless and take care.

 

Scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

 

Prayer requests, questions, comments to the email address

 

Especially those that follow on twitter I almost never check my msgs there.

Leave a Reply

