Broken

March 8, 2017

I was visiting with a man today talking about boldness and stepping out in faith and he shared with me a “lost opportunity.”

“In 1970 a young man approached me and asked for investment capital, he explained how he was going to start flying packages for folks that wanted fast delivery. He was bright, enthusiastic and a Christian. I told him (pardon the pun) it would never fly. And as you know Fred Smith went on without my help and started Fedx.”

In 1986 I meet Fred myself in Memphis, at the time I was working with Oral Roberts conducting evangelistic meetings on the East Coast. I was impressed with all that he had accomplished. And most of all his never say can’t attitude and his total dependence upon God.

I look back with a great deal of regret over wasted years and opportunities in my life. But Paul says that the only way to move forward is to put the past behind and focus on what is ahead: “Instead I am single-minded: Forgetting the things that are behind and reaching out for the things that are ahead, with this goal in mind, I strive toward the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus” (Phil. 3:13b-14 ). Forgetting the past means that I accept God’s forgiveness and grace; however, it does not that I overlook the lessons learned from those years. I hope to make the most of every opportunity God gives me now because of my regret over those missed in the past. As you think through those in your own life, don’t wallow in them with guilt or regret but use them as bridges to the future where you take advantage of the circumstances into which God puts you.

Some dreams die twice, yet like a phoenix they rise again.

One of Satan’s great lies, is that your failures disqualify you from being used of God. Take it from someone that has screwed up everything there is to screw up and God in his grace has still chosen to use me, a very flawed vessel.

As the divine potter sometimes God has to smash the pot to pieces and build again and though painful the final work is always a masterpiece, His masterpiece.

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

