OLD MAN

March 12, 2017

Image result for picture of neil young

OLD MAN

I’ve mentioned this song before by Neil Young, in some ways he reminds me of Bob Dylan, great song, so, so voice. I think of this song often when I swear to myself I will never do the same things my Dad did, yet I have. When I do I think of this song. But in context to today’s devotion it means something else.

Old man, look at my life

I’m a lot like you were

Old man, look at my life

I’m a lot like you were

Old man, look at my life

24 and there’s so much more

Live alone in a paradise

That makes me think of two

Love lost, such a cost

Give me things that don’t get lost

Like a coin that won’t get tossed

Rolling home to you

[Hook]

Old man, take a look at my life

I’m a lot like you

I need someone to love me

The whole day through

Ah, one look in my eyes

And you can tell that’s true

[Verse 2]

Lullabies, look in your eyes

Run around the same old town

Doesn’t mean that much to me

To mean that much to you

I’ve been first and last

Look at how the time goes past

But I’m all alone at last

Rolling home to you

[Hook]

Old man, take a look at my life

I’m a lot like you

I need someone to love me

The whole day through

Ah, one look in my eyes

And you can tell that’s true

[Verse 1]

Old man, look at my life

I’m a lot like you were

Old man, look at my life

I’m a lot like you were

“Put away, as concerning your former manner of life, the old man” (Eph. 4:22, ASV).

  Positionally, in the finished work of the Cross and resurrection, we have been cut off from the old man through death, and have been born into the new Man by the new birth. “Ye have put off the old man…and have put on the new man, which is renewed in knowledge after the image of Him that created him” (Col. 3:9, 10). Experientially, day by day, our part is to choose against the old (“put off”) in favor of the new (“put on”), thus allowing the Holy Spirit freedom to apply the finished work of the Cross (Rom. 6:11). “I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I that live, but Christ liveth in me” (Gal. 2:20, ASV).

  “The flesh need not be an ugly form of life, indeed it can be apparently very nice, but it is alien to this new life in the Spirit. It belongs to another race; it is not the life of the Lord Jesus Christ. So we are told that the Holy Spirit is in open conflict against the self-life (Gal. 5:17).

It is equally true that the flesh lusts (strives) against the Spirit, but He is well able to take up the challenge. He will not quietly accept this rival to the rule of Christ, so He stands, with His great weapon of the Cross, to render inoperative everything which is a menace to the life of Christ in us. He calls us to cooperate with Him in this matter by reckoning, for only so can the excellency of Christ be manifested in the believer.

  “Put on the new man” (Eph. 4:24)

GOD BLESS FROM SCUMLIKEUSCHURCH@GMAIL.COM

 

Leave a Reply

