Good bye Sophie

March 29, 2017

Standing Neo.jpg

Sophie at eight months old

You may not know who George Gimarc is the best historian of rock and roll, he has been supplanted by others who profess to be experts but didn’t live the music the way George did.

He says the greatest rock song ever produced was by the band, Atomic Rooster, “Death walks behind you”, and I agree, since I own that album and was the friend of the bass player.

One of my favorite songs is “while my guitar gently weeps” done by countless stars, but my favorite is by Gary Moore.

So how does that fit with our devotion, I had a very short career in studio work as a guitar player, I dig old rock and roll. And today those two songs mean a lot to me.

We put to sleep our third dog in less than a year, our second in two weeks, our Neapolitan Mastiff passed today at 11 years old. We are now down to one dog, very unusual for us.

My wife wept, I was sad but didn’t cry, I grew up on a farm that butchered cows, went deer hunting and was in the military, 9 of my best friends have committed suicide, I’ve been to each funeral.

So “death walks behind me”.

And while due to arthritis I no longer play the guitar, I pulled out my 1967 Gibson and tuned it and played a couple of chords in remembrance of those gone before.

So “while my guitar gently weeps”

Into each heart a little rain must fall, (Longfellow)

The day is cold, and dark, and dreary;

It rains, and the wind is never weary;

The vine still clings to the mouldering wall,

But at every gust the dead leaves fall,

And the day is dark and dreary.

My life is cold, and dark, and dreary;

It rains, and the wind is never weary;

My thoughts still cling to the mouldering Past,

But the hopes of youth fall thick in the blast,

And the days are dark and dreary.

Be still, sad heart! and cease repining;

Behind the clouds is the sun still shining;

Thy fate is the common fate of all,

Into each life some rain must fall,

Some days must be dark and dreary.

 

 

So to dog lovers out there, you get it.

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

