bridge over the river kwai

July 24, 2017

Bridge over the river Kwai

You may not be old enough to know this movie reference, if you haven’t seen this movie I suggest you move it up to things you need to do this week.

I don’t want to ruin the plot or the ending so I will only say this “don’t give up.”

As I’m writing this devotion I am at the point of saying I quit, no more, let me off, goodbye, sayonara, adios, you get my point.

I’m tired, fed up, frustrated, worried, anxious, fearful, depressed, again you get my point, not the fruits of the spirit.

You have no idea how my brain works, I have no idea how my brain works.   But you don’t want to be in my head. One reason I keep the radio on a Christian station all day everywhere, even in the shower is so I don’t hear what I’m thinking. Because when it gets quiet it gets crazy.

So here was my idea of solving my problems today, get a big refrigerator box, put a sign on it that says “Unwanted Merchandise” put it out on the Interstate and climb in and see who picks me and maybe they’ll keep me. (grade “A” pity party today)

Except right after I think that this song pops into my head;

1 I have a song that Jesus gave me,

It was sent from heav’n above;

There never was a sweeter melody,

‘Tis a melody of love.

2 I love the Christ who died on Calv’ry,

For He washed my sins away;

He put within my heart a melody,

And I know it’s there to stay.

3 ‘Twill be my endless theme in glory,

With the angels I will sing;

‘Twill be a song with glorious harmony,

When the courts of heaven ring.

Chorus;

In my heart there rings a melody,

There rings a melody with heaven’s harmony;

In my heart there rings a melody,

There rings a melody of love.

And like Paul Harvey, (another reference for the older crowd) is the rest of the story. Yes, tomorrow will still be hard, the pain, the difficulties, the realities of life and circumstances. But I will probably still be singing this song until I fall asleep tonight and then when I wake up tomorrow.

Don’t give up, don’t give in to the dark side, the sun will come up tomorrow and it still may suck in a major way, but hey I will sing this song until the Lord rescues me.

Seriously, smile!

God bless from scumlikeuschurch@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

